The Lion King Returns

Hey everybody, I am back and I am stoked. It has just been announced, The Lion King is getting another movie. While this one will be a re-imagining of the 1994 classic, that doesn’t dampen my spirits one bit. If you haven’t seen The Lion King, the story follows a lion cub named Simba and his journey to find himself.

This will be a CG heavy film, and no, it will not be live-action ( We all know Disney has been on a live-action kick.) We have John Favreau in the directors chair, you may know his works, Iron Man 1 & 2 and The Avengers movies. James Earl Jones will return to voice Mufasa once again which i am really excited about. What I’m kinda iffy on is that Seth Rogen will be voicing Pumbaa. I guess we will see how that works out. Billy Eichner will be voicing Timon. I know, who the heck is this guy? Aparrently he voices Mr. Ambrose in Bob’s Burgers and plays Craig Middlebrooks in Parks and Recreation. I don’t watch either of these so I really have no input on this one. Donald Glover will be voicing Simba. That’s right. Childish Gambino himself. If you don’t know him as that then how about his new show Atlanta that is playing on FX.

I believe that this movie could either be a huge success for Disney that could kick-start a trend in remakes of beloved movies from Disney’s reniassance period, or it could completely tank. Honestly it depends on how well our voice actors capture the essence of their characters. I would love to see a remake of The Little Mermaid. Go ahead, call me a sissy. But I don’t care, I loved that movie. What really blows my mind is they already have a release date set for July 19 2019. But that could get pushed back.

And remember,

Even the Mundane can be Extraordinary.

Anthony Waldo

Leave a Reply

